AV or not

Discussion in 'Virtual and Cloud Computing' started by law123, Feb 19, 2006.

1. law123

law123 Byte Poster

This is probably a stupid question.
    If I setup a operating system in VMWare do I need to use Norton AV and firewall on the system in VMWare please be gentle I have never used this bfore so I am a total newbie to VMWare.
    :newbie

Certifications: None
    WIP: A+
  2. ffreeloader

ffreeloader Terabyte Poster

law,

Of course you do. An OS in vmware works just the same, and has the same vulnerabilities as the same OS installed in the normal way. Vmware just allows you to create multiple OS's using one installation rather than creating a multiple boot pc.

Certifications: MCSE, MCDBA, CCNA, A+
    WIP: LPIC 1
  3. zimbo
    Honorary Member

zimbo Petabyte Poster

if you feel you need one why not? im always reinstalling mine so i dont even bother... just have good old nod32 on my host and that keeps me safe! 8)

Certifications: B.Sc, MCDST & MCSA
    WIP: M.Sc - Computer Forensics
  4. simongrahamuk
    Honorary Member

simongrahamuk Hmmmmmmm?

Doesn't it depend on how you have the VM communicating with the host and the outside world?

For instance if the VM only talks to the host and no further then there would be no need for it, right? :rolleyes:

5. law123

law123 Byte Poster