Are you getting the Broadband speed you are paying for?

Discussion in 'Internet, Connectivity and Communications' started by nicklaw, Dec 21, 2007.

1. nicklaw

nicklaw New Member

Hi

I'm a consumer journalist working for the BBC and am currently looking into the issue of people not getting what they are paying for with their download speeds.

You can either post here or email me and I'll get back to you....

Thanks.

2. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

They're getting exactly what they paid for... a shared-bandwidth service that provides anywhere from 0 Mbps up to the maximum rated speed.

In other words, there's a maximum, but no minimum.

Sure, it sucks that some companies oversubscribe so much that users get very little bandwidth. In those cases, consumers should speak with their wallets: change to a different provider.

Certifications: CISSP, MCSE+I, MCSE: Security, MCSE: Messaging, MCDST, MCDBA, MCTS, OCP, CCNP, CCDP, CCNA Security, CCNA Voice, CNE, SCSA, Security+, Linux+, Server+, Network+, A+
    WIP: Just about everything!
  3. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

Before I say anything - I should mention that I work for a well-known ISP.

Most ISP ads are quite clear - they usualy have some statement like 'up to 8Mbps'. This means what it says. It is hard to know what form of words could be used to make it any plainer that the technology has its limitations, like any technology.

I also run a help-desk at a computer fair. I find it interesting that most people who come up with questions about broadband speed accept that they won't get the top figure.

Obviously there will always be a highly vocal minority who shout loudly that they aren't satisfied!

Harry.

Certifications: ECDL A+ Network+ i-Net+
    WIP: Server+
  4. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

What they said