Apple, Google, IBM plus more dropping the requirements for a degree

Discussion in 'The Lounge - Off Topic' started by JK2447, Aug 21, 2018.

1. JK2447
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

JK2447 Petabyte Poster Administrator Premium Member

Interesting read from CNBC here https://www.cnbc.com/2018/08/16/15-...quire-employees-to-have-a-college-degree.html

I have a degree and must admit, Ive never been asked about it in a single interview, although I don't doubt it's helped my CV to avoid being binned on occasion as a way for recruiters to reduce the number of applicants.

What do you think? I think experience is King BUT that industry certification is very useful and more relevant as they are more likely to teach you real world skills, and less theory based on My experience with my Computer Science degree.

My comments are perhaps more suited to IT as Id want my surgeon to have a degree or two that's for sure!

Certifications: VCP4, 5, 6, 6.5, 6.7, 7, 8, VCAP DCV Design, VMConAWS Skill, Google Cloud Digital Leader, BSc (Hons), HND IT, HND Computing, ITIL-F, MBCS CITP, MCP (270,290,291,293,294,298,299,410,411,412) MCTS (401,620,624,652) MCSA:Security, MCSE: Security, Security+, CPTS, CCA (XenApp6.5), MCSA 2012, VSP, VTSP
    WIP: Google Cloud Certs
    drum_dude likes this.
  2. dmarsh
    Honorary Member 500 Likes Award

dmarsh Petabyte Poster

Yes I made this point some time ago, employers are now more interested in employees skills than bits of paper, that includes degrees and certifications.

Neither system delivers anymore, employers find there are useless metrics for talent.

drum_dude likes this.
  3. drum_dude

drum_dude Gigabyte Poster

Very true.

I've found that certifications have been good for personal development, as in for a proper laid out "curriculum" when learning new things or upgrading existing skills. However, no employer/client has ever asked to see my MS transcript as a requirement for the interview stage or job/contract role.