anyone help - career changer?

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by Genesis, May 30, 2005.

1. Genesis

Genesis New Member

I was hoping that I could get some helpful advice from yourselves. A bit of background - I have been stuck in a dead end job for nearly 20 years now and desparately want to change. Want more out of life, work and have a family that I want to be able to support financially.

So looking for a career change and would like to get into computers. I am not particularly a building type person so don't think that working with hardware is my cup of tea. However i am quite a logical person and after a bit of reading seem drawn towards programming, database etc.

I have not worked in a computer environment apart from using them to input data etc as part of work. It would be a total career change for me.

So this is where I need your advice. As a complete novice which would be the best route to take? (mcse, mcdba, sql, ccna-know nothing about this one)).

I am also 40 years old - would I be able to find work easily in these fields of work?

Basically if you can give me any advice I will much appreciate it

Many thanks
    David

2. Boycie
    Honorary Member

Boycie Senior Beer Tester

Hi,
    Welcome to the Cert forums. Here you will find a lot of advice about all the questions you have asked with all different opinions.

If you are desperately seeking to change career ASAP then there are many training companies who offer some kind of interview/employment at the end of it all. You might want to have a search around and see who has gone with who and what the outcome was/is.

If you are prepared to wait some amount of time then the self taught route can be achieved and will definately save you a lot of money :D

You mention that you would like to go the programming/database route- sounds good to me!