Another total beginner to MCSE

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by Grasshopper, Nov 17, 2005.

1. Grasshopper

Grasshopper New Member

Hi, I'm new to these forums and I'm in a similar position to Mr Hanky.

I've just been made redundant from a job in the insurance industry. I now want to get into IT but at this stage I'm not even sure which qualification is best to pursue. I'm currently leaning towards MCSE becasue a lot a job advertisements stipulate it as a requirement and because I used to know someone who did it.

I've looked at a number of training providers and have basically ruled them out because their fees are exhorbitant. Some of them charge throsands of pounds just for providing online training which is taking the piss IMHO.

Can someone tell me whether it is possible (albeit difficult) to study for the MCSE exams by just using books? I've got a PC at home running XP connected to the internet but I can't really afford to set up my own network just to experiment on.

I do have quite a bit of computing expeience but it was a long time ago. I'm also comfortable with home study as I did some insurance exams about a year ago.

Are there any good books I can buy on the MCSE exam, not necessarily for training but to enable me to guage what I'm letting myself in for before I lay down any serious money?

Is it better to pass a lesser exam first before tackling the MCSE and if so which one?

Which is better Microsoft, Comptia, or Cisco?

Sorry for all the questions but at the moment I can't see the wood for the trees.

Thanks in advance.

2. simongrahamuk
    Honorary Member

simongrahamuk Hmmmmmmm?

Hi there, Welcome to CF!

In a simple answer to your question; Yes, it is possible to study for MCSE through self study, many members here have done it, and are doing it that way.