Another new joiner :)

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by bijomaru, Jun 30, 2009.

1. bijomaru

bijomaru New Member

Hi everyone. Thought I say hello and introduce myself a little bit as I think I will be here today since I finally started working on my A+.

I'm into IT since I was 8, even if back then it was just writing some simple games in Basic on C64. When I got 15 I bought/assembled my first PC with little knowledge that I don't even know where I gained. Since then I fell in love with RAM sticks, CPUs and rest of that stuff :)

I have always wanted to follow the IT professional path but could never get myself right onto the track. Whether it was because lack of motivation, money or being young and careless :) Now I run a small business myself doing repairs, upgrades and building PCs, so I have a lot of experience on hands. But I want to get certified for 2 reasons I think, in no particular order. 1) For my own satisfaction of being recognised IT professional 2) to secure myself a good job that I will actually like to do or become more successful running my own workshop if it all turns out well.

I am reading Mike Meyer's Comptia A+ AIO Book and watching videos at www.freeaplus.com and will try booking the exam sometime soon as I feel quite confident. I will go through the book and videos though to fill any gaps I might have.

Of course I understand there is lot of stuff I still need to learn, but hopefully with you guys providing me with some directions I will not lose my way. As I am more interested in hardware side, I would like to know what would be next step after A+. I reckon Network+ would be useful for me as I troubleshoot and set up networks sometimes. And then .... MSCDT ??