Am I deluding myself?

Discussion in 'A+' started by misanthrope, Oct 12, 2008.

1. misanthrope

misanthrope Bit Poster

I’ve been a design engineer for twenty years & I’ve been looking for a career change. In the summer I completed three years of evening classes to get a technical certificate as an electrician, but the practical truth is it’s an expensive insurance policy. What I wanted to do was IT related, but my local college didn't have anything suitable.

Then I discovered this website & from a relative starting point of superficial knowledge I’ve learnt a great deal from reading the AIO, so it’s been edifying. However before I delude myself & I invest a couple of hundred quid on exams, I was hoping to read from ppl who can prove it really is possible for a autodidactic-30-something to become an IT technician.

2. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

IT is difficult to get into as there is lots of competition, you just need to keep trying. Just be aware that no qualification guarantee you a job, start applying for jobs before you go fo the exams, go for trainee and entry level positions.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?
  3. dmarsh
    Honorary Member 500 Likes Award

dmarsh Petabyte Poster

4. grim

grim Gigabyte Poster

also if you make a career change to IT you'll be starting off on a fairly low salary until you have the experience :(

Grim

Certifications: Bsc, 70-270, 70-290, 70-291, 70-293, 70-294, 70-298, 70-299, 70-620, 70-649, 70-680
    WIP: 70-646, 70-640
  5. misanthrope

misanthrope Bit Poster

I would expect to half my salary.:eek: but i have no dependants.

I think I'll need to be progressive, study a bit more, take the exams, keep learning & looking for those entry level opportunities.

I'd still be interested to hear ppl's stories, successful or not.

6. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster