Advice..

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by Rob1234, Jan 29, 2009.

1. Rob1234

Rob1234 Megabyte Poster Forum Leader

I am currently studying for the 70-620 exam which my manager is fine with but that I want to study for the ITIL v3 and then the 70-640 but here is the problem my manager is not very keen on me doing ITIL or the 70-640.

I currently work in a first line role with some second line tasks, my manager says that the ITIL is more for management and that as we don’t use server 2008 there is no point doing the 70-640 any ideas how I can persuade him to allow me to do the two certifications?

Certifications: A few.
  2. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

Do you currently administer Windows Server 2003 servers?

Certifications: CISSP, MCSE+I, MCSE: Security, MCSE: Messaging, MCDST, MCDBA, MCTS, OCP, CCNP, CCDP, CCNA Security, CCNA Voice, CNE, SCSA, Security+, Linux+, Server+, Network+, A+
    WIP: Just about everything!
  3. Rob1234

Yes, but I was thinking 2008 will be better on my cv for the future and I have experience with server 2003 which I can put on my CV as well, so I then cover both bases.

4. dales

dales Terabyte Poster

As bosonm is no doubt about to say, study 2k3 route then as its aplicable to your environment. However also if you really want to study the 2008 track and ITIL then you dont need to involve work in it. In fact if you self study and fund then you dont owe them anything and its got nothing to do with them.

ITIL v3 foundation would be a good cert to go for to start with and its absolute piffle about it being a management cert.

Certifications: vExpert 2014+2015+2016,VCP-DT,CCE-V, CCE-AD, CCP-AD, CCEE, CCAA XenApp, CCA Netscaler, XenApp 6.5, XenDesktop 5 & Xenserver 6,VCP3+5,VTSP,MCSA MCDST MCP A+ ITIL F
    WIP: Nothing
  5. BosonMichael