Advice - What certification

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by Yorkie, Jun 14, 2007.

1. Yorkie

Yorkie Bit Poster

Hi
    Im new to the forum
    I am 17 and just finishing a First Btec in IT support and hoping to do a NVQ starting in summer which is mostly work placement. I hope to do this in an investment bank. I would like to do a certification in the summer but can't decide which one. I was thinking of MSDST or A+. Do people think this is a good idea and what is the best way to get it. I was looking into Westminster College of Computing. But I am a student and would be spending my limited life savings so i cannot make a mistake! Im hoping an industry reconised qualification together with working as a Desktop support analyist for an Investment bank for a year for nothing should be enough to get me a job at the end of it. Advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks

Tommy Yorke

Approved - Boyce

Certifications: Very bad GCSE's
    WIP: First BTEC in IT Support
  2. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

I'd say that the A+ would be a good starter, as it is vendor neutral.

At your age you are used to studying (and also, as you said, have no money! :biggrin (I remember that time well)) so I'd suggest that you try doing A+ with self-study rather than spending money on colleges/training providers.

Harry.

Certifications: ECDL A+ Network+ i-Net+
    WIP: Server+
  3. nXPLOSi

nXPLOSi Terabyte Poster

I'd agree with Harry, A+ is a great start, and using the self study method you'll save yourself alot of money.

The MCDST is a good cert to have as well, whats the harm in doing both? :biggrin

Certifications: A+, Network+, Security+, MCSA 2003 (270, 290, 291), MCTS (640, 642), MCSA 2008
    WIP: MCSA 2012
  4. simongrahamuk
    Honorary Member

simongrahamuk Hmmmmmmm?

A+, self study, welcome, bye. :biggrin

5. Alex Wright

Alex Wright Megabyte Poster