Advice re next steps

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by mikesjn, Mar 12, 2009.

1. mikesjn

mikesjn New Member

Hi All,
    I would like some advice on the next steps:

I have 11 years experience, from Hardware support, desktop (on DOS - Vista), Server experience from Netware 5, NT 4, W2K and W3K, Groupwise/Exchange, I have some Linux Redhat Experience (Builds are no problem, Kickstart NFS, HTTP, FTP including sw raid etc, I have setup NIS and NFS, DNS,DHCP,FTP etc).

I would like to get a Linux Cert, possibly RHCE. I was looking at the course costs and they are frankly expensive. Anyone have any experience of going abroad - ie eastern europe. I did CCNA in India, it was quite good training, less crammed than the Pix course I did here.

Also is this a good route for me, I enjoy support/ sys admin role, I owned my own non-IT business (Which I sold to a national company) so I don't really want management.

I would also like to do some DBA type course, I have a bit of MySQL knowledge and have setup MS Sql 7.0/2000/5 servers.

What I am saying is my knowledge both of RedHat and SQL server is fragmented, some stuff I have advanced knowledge on, some simple stuff is missing, I never use it, ie at work i have moved all our Windows DNS/DHCP to Linux (A requirement), but I hardly know about Gnome/KDE as I tend to use the command line.

Advice about progression and which is best (ie Oracle or SQL server) would be greatly appreciated. I would like to become a DBA ( for at least part of my role) and I am willing to take a backward step if needed. I learn fast (forget nearly as quickly, joke). Also courses that people recommend (especially low cost abroad (also low cost here)).
    Thanks for the help

M

Certifications: MCSE, CCSA/CCSE, CCNA, CNA, A+
    WIP: RHCE and would like DBA
  2. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator