Advice needed on career change into Database admin/programming

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Edmac, Apr 7, 2011.

1. Edmac

Edmac New Member

Hi, I am looking for a bit of advice. I am quite keen to get into Database programming and administration. I am currently a project manager and have worked in quite a few areas of IT mainly through managed services for 2 companies. I started out working first and second line support about 6 years ago. A lucky break led to work as a programmer, at first with ASP, then C# using SQL server 2000 then 2005. At the time I loved the database work and writing SQL but after a couple of big projects the work dried up for the company.
    I then spent the next 3 years working firstly as a project coordinator then as a project manager more on the networking side of things. About a year ago I spent some time working on a project migrating data from one system to another using SQL and it reminded me of how much I enjoy database work.

As part of my degree I did courses on SQL and db administration using an Oracle database but I completed that back in 2003. I am thinking of doing the following certifications to improve my chances of getting in.

MCITP: Database Developer 2008

MCITP: Business Intelligence Developer 2008

What are the prospects of getting into a database role with very little experience? What sort of roles can I realistically go for? I realise I would have to start at the bottom but I feel that in the long run it would be something worth doing. Life’s too short to be doing something you don’t enjoy.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated :)

Certifications: Prince2 Practitioner & ITIL foundation
    WIP: SQL Server 2008
  2. volatile

volatile Nibble Poster