Advent training please advise

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by roundy, Aug 31, 2008.

1. roundy

roundy New Member

Hi guys,

My name is James and I have 5 years of experience of first line and 2 years on second line support.
    Currently I have gotten work with just having experience etc and would like some qualifications under my belt. At present working on 1st , 2nd and local engineer.

I have seen advent training and know I can get a MSCE for £4500 or along those lines.

My question is should I go for the MCSE course next week (already had the sales guy round) and do the 2 years of study??

The only things holding me back are............

I know 2003 will expire soon so I will be qualified for a year and 2008 will be out then - would this affect me that much not having 2008 qualifications or should I wait till I can take the updated 2008 courses?

Or should I take something like an MCP and then see what companies are looking for i.e. 2008 qualifications

As I said before I don’t have A+ or network + and currently earn £19k, I think having these exams would help me get in the 25k area easy and I should be on more but really justify it if I don’t have the qualifications.

I know I could take the a few exams with my company but I don’t want to be stuck with them as I currently looking for a new job.

Hope you can help guys.

2. roundy

roundy New Member

Any feedback would be great from anyone in the same position or currently training with advent so I know what they are like as a company etc.

Much appreciated
    James

3. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

These are just my opinions...

1. You have 1st and 2nd line support, I would strongly recommend (for now) just go down the MCSA route. As I very much doubt that as 2nd line support you're designing networks.

2. I believe that £4500 is expensive, you can get a degree for less than that.