Advent Training advice

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by AndyBrooks, Oct 15, 2009.

1. AndyBrooks

AndyBrooks New Member

I've been a games developer for the past four years working for a low-mid range company based in North Scotland (salary of around 16k). I have minimal qualifications in IT and I acquired my current job through presentation of my self-taught skills and experience.

Recently I have decided it was time to gain certain key qualifications, and expand my skill base by applying to do a training course. Advent Training was recommended by a friend of mine, however I've become deeply concerned after reading many of the threads on this forum and I feel I have made a bad choice in selecting a reputable IT Training company.

Any advice you fellas/ladies can offer?:blink

Last edited by a moderator: Oct 15, 2009
  2. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

self study and don't pay somone thousands of pounds that you could do yourself for a couple of hundred or so.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?
  3. Alex399

Alex399 Byte Poster

In terms of cost it is not the most viable option self study can be around 80% cheaper Ive learn't from this forum recentley.

I'm with advent, Ive taken the MCSE course, which Ive been told Ive been misold due to my lack of experience but given there is no time limit when you take the course with Advent, I will take the certs one at a time wait till I get my first entry level job, completely stop inbetween certs if I'm unable to find employment and continue the relevant cert to the kind of job I would look to progress on from that position for instance I have taken my Comptia A+, MCP, MCDST and have stopped studying for a year maybe 2 due to not being able to find work get my entry level role in a Desktop Support role, then I can continue on with my certs making a start on the MCSA.