A+ newbie question

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by drpiddleton, Jul 17, 2007.

1. drpiddleton

drpiddleton New Member

Hi
    I'm about to leave my lackluster job behind and am hoping to get into the IT industry. I have no prior IT experience except amateur dabbling with computers.

I would like to get an entry level position in IT - preferably first level support or networking. A friend of mine advised me to earn the A+ and security+ certification first.

If I study several hours per day, how long do you think it would take to complete the A+? Or security+.

I know it depends on the individual but I'm just after a ballpark figure. My goal is to complete the A+ in just under three months since I might have some work experience arranged with a local IT company in four or five months time and I would really like to become certified first.

I heard from a training provider that the A+ can actually take longer than the MSCE course. My instincts tell me this is not true! What do you think? In terms of making myself more employable, is the CCNP better than the MSCE or doesn't it make much difference?

Do you think getting a couple of short term, unpaid work placements on my CV is a good way of beating that vicious catch 22 situation of being inexperienced?

Thanks

:D :D

2. Wassup

Wassup Byte Poster

A+ and Security+ are quite different exams.

If you self study for the A+ then you could easily take it within 3 months. Moreover you could go on a 3 or 5 day course and pass within a couple of weeks.
    After the A+, have a look at either the Network+ or MCDST route, I'm starting to look at Sec+ now as something to do after my next planned microsoft exam (70-292) and I reckon that will take me about 6 months given I am working full time now as well as "with wife and kids" ;)