A+ : Implementing hard drives

Discussion in 'A+' started by christof, Oct 26, 2004.

1. christof

christof Nibble Poster

I'm half way through this chapter in the Mike Meyers book, and it has me totally confused.

Most of everything else I've read so far, I've been able to make sense of and understand, and with a second read through feel I would have a good grasp, but this section on the hard drive implementation has turned my brain to liquid!

It's probably cause I have no experience at all with partioning and volumes etc. the other stuff I have either a decent idea on or have done it at least once before.

I'm only running XP home on my machine, and have only 1 hard drive so I can't even tinker as I'm going through the chapter.

Has anyone else had this problem at some point in their study?
    How have you managed to get around it?

Certifications: certificate of life!!!
    WIP: A+
  2. punkboy101
    Honorary Member

punkboy101 Back from the wilderness

You could always buy yourself another HD if you had the funds. :D This is the way i would go, they can be bought pretty cheap these day's, and everyone could alway's do with a bit of extra storage.

Also with another HD (although you could just use the second partition if you have one!) you could install, say windows 98. That way, you have a copy of XP (NTFS) and Win98 (FAT) to play with. As I'm sure you know, there are allot of difference's in the file systems, and this would enable you to get used to both.

It would also give you the oportunity to play around with installing and configuring a HD, very easy to do, but it's always good to have some experience.

Just my 2p :D

HTH

Andy

Certifications: CCNA
    WIP: Nada
  3. Phoenix
    Honorary Member

Phoenix 53656e696f7220 4d6f64

firstly
    try to pick up another hard drive, and tinker, small ones go for 20 - 40 quid new!

which part exactly are you not getting? ill try and explain a bit when i get back this evening