A+ advice Please

Discussion in 'A+' started by Colloghi, Jan 17, 2007.

1. Colloghi

Colloghi Kilobyte Poster

Im currently studying for the a+ certification, and whilst a the moment i have only the 5th edition book, will probably take the new a+ exams for what its worth.

I just wonder a couple of things, has the cost of the exams gone up?

Also i see the exam is now structured similar to many academic course, as in you have to take one module, then basically select the second module from a group. I just wonder, if choosing one module over another would cause me to lose out on any infomation which may hamper any potential job application.

And one last small query.

Taking notes.

Im terrible about stripping infomation down to its bare essential bones, i usually retain tons of crap which includes info about stuff that isnt relevant to any exam:oops: Are there any decent books out there that i can use to just refresh my mind over infomation i have obtained from mr meyers without getting information overload.

Thankyou

Certifications: A+, MCP 270, 271, MCDST
    WIP: 290
  2. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

The goal isn't to simply pass the exam... it's to make you a better tech through the learning process. The stuff you learn that may not be relevant to the exam WILL be relevant to what you do on a daily basis.

Personally, I can't see why CompTIA would create different A+ tracks, especially since doing so will confuse most people who are new to IT. From what I've heard, most people are just taking the IT Technician exam. For what it's worth, most employers don't even know there are different A+ tracks, so I wouldn't think your choice of A+ "elective" would hurt your employment chances.

Best of luck!

Certifications: CISSP, MCSE+I, MCSE: Security, MCSE: Messaging, MCDST, MCDBA, MCTS, OCP, CCNP, CCDP, CCNA Security, CCNA Voice, CNE, SCSA, Security+, Linux+, Server+, Network+, A+