70-642 Question and General Qualifications question

Discussion in 'Windows Server 2003 / 2008 / 2012 / 2016' started by RoughNeckTwoZero, Nov 9, 2011.

1. RoughNeckTwoZero

RoughNeckTwoZero New Member

Hi all! Only the second time I have posted but a big fan of the forum.

I've been working my way through the MCITP Server Administrator and MCITP Enterprise Administrator Tracks and managed to take down 70-647 today with 812/900! I've been putting off 70-642 until last because I think I will find it the hardest. I've got it booked for December.

Have others who have taken it found it to be the worst of the lot or am I worrying too much? Thinking I might wuss out and do 70-685 instead and leave 70-642 until next year!

Also, a general question, I work in the public sector in a large Enterprise and in an Enterprise Admin Role but my circumstances mean that I may have to move on and I may have the option to persue Exchange 2010, VMWare, and CCENT qualifications. I could also go backward and do some of the XP/2003 exams. Which one would you treat as the priority?

Last edited: Nov 9, 2011
  2. Julius

Julius Bit Poster

Hey RoughNecktwoZer,

To give you my opinion about your choice in possible qualifications I would have to say VMware then followed by Exchange and then CCENT, the last one will be the hardest as it will be a whole lot of work on it's own. Why I say VMware first is that you have already done your MCITP so that gives you a good rounded knowledge of Servers now with VMware your are just virtualising those servers, Exchange is a very good one to have it complements your MCITP, everyone that does MCITP should do Exchange, that is on my radar too, followed by SQL. The CCENT is completely different subject, most sysadmins don't need to worry about networks because there is networks guy in house but if you can manage all the work it would be an invaluable skill.

Hope this help a bit. Any advice on study techniques for me? Been struggling to get down to it.