70-282 - total newbie

Discussion in 'SBS' started by Tightscot, Feb 4, 2008.

1. Tightscot

Tightscot New Member

Hi All

i am due to sit the 70-282 exam shortly, but have done no revision whatsoever... I have also never sat a MS exam before :eek:

Can anyone tell me what to expect - ie number of questions, is there a time limit, will i find out instantly whether i pass or fail, what is the pass rate etc etc...

I have a transcender demo and got 80% on my first go, although this was only 10 questions, i also have a pass-guaranteed' demo, and got 70% on my fist go - although this was only 11 questions...

All in all I'm viewing this first exam as a bit of a feeler, and expect to fail, but you never know.

Thanks in advance.

PS exam is this Thursday 6th feb :biggrin

Certifications: MCP - 70-282
  2. Modey

Modey Terabyte Poster

I think it's a bad idea to rely on a 10 question Transcender sample as a guide to how ready you are really. Is there a reason you haven't prepared for it more? Second shot is all very well, but I always prefer to prepare really well and get it right the first time.

As for the exam, I haven't done that particular one, but if it's like many other MS exams the pass mark will be 700. Most asume this translates to 70% as a pass mark, but noone knows for definite.

More info can be found here :-

http://www.microsoft.com/learning/exams/70-282.mspx

If you feel you know all of the subject areas of the objectives (listed further down the page) then you have a decent chance. Real world experience will stand you in good stead also.

Remember, you should be able to re-schedule up to 24hours before the test if you change your mind.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCP, MCDST, MCSA 2K3, MCTS, MOS, MTA, MCT, MCITP:EDST7, MCSA W7, Citrix CCA, ITIL Foundation
    WIP: Nada
  3. Tightscot

Tightscot New Member

Thanks for the reply modey...