6 weeks as a service desk analyst...think i should move on?

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Zeeman, Mar 14, 2008.

1. Zeeman

Zeeman Bit Poster

Hi Folks,

Just want your advice on this, I am currently working as a service desk analyst and has been 6 weeks now, BUT I feel I have the skills for 2nd line support in this place.

As I am a contractor (working through an agency), I am wondering if I should ask my Manager to take me onto second line OR wait till I am more established?

When DO I decide to make the move? the opportunity has gone already anyway as they have got a new person in 2 days ago, although he doesn't appear to be to IT savvy if you know what I mean :O
    Should I go and tell them to make me next in the Queue or would it be inapropriate given my position and compromise it?

Certifications: CCNA, CCNP, CCNP Security, Security+, Computer Engineer/BENG
    WIP: CEH, Later CISSP and ISO27001
  2. AlexLewis83

AlexLewis83 New Member

I'd go for it.. just say that your interested in moving up to 2nd line and would like an oppurtunity etc. If you don't ask you don't get?

3. punkboy101
    Honorary Member

punkboy101 Back from the wilderness

I would say go for it. The worse they can say is no, and even if they say that, you will have made your interest and intentions clear. Therefore if a possitions appears in the future, they already know you want it.

Good luck! :thumbleft

Certifications: CCNA
    WIP: Nada
  4. Zeeman

Zeeman Bit Poster

Your right folks, I just needed confirmation I guess :p

Thanks BTW!

5. kevicho

kevicho Gigabyte Poster

Personally I would talk to the agency first about this, as they have a contract with the company you are working for for 1st line support staff, if you were to move up this would probably affect the agreement the 2 companies have.

Also get used to working with numpties in IT, a lot of them are paper technicians (meaning "qualifications" only) who dont usually have the first clue how IT works.