1st line support?

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by coolc, Feb 14, 2011.

1. coolc

coolc Nibble Poster

Im wondering what do these 1st line support people do?

is it helpdesk or what?

Like what kind of technical problems do they solve?

2. cosway

cosway Nibble Poster

I was fortunate enough to get into IT from the programming side, then switched to support later on, although I was never on a 1st line support, I have worked in places where there are 1st line support, and the role is more-or-less the same but the amount of fixes you are required to attempt may be different from organisation to organisation.

Leading UK ISP :x
    I was a programmer and intranet manager at a leading UK ISP back when the internet was just starting out (before facebook, eBay, Google, yahoo was king back then), one of my projects was to create and manage an intranet based technical knowledge database. In this particular ISP the 1st line support had 3 roles, ask the customer the questions on the screen to resolve the issue (think Microsoft help wizard – switch PC on, did this resolve the issue? Yes - no), a 1st line support may also be required to try and talk the caller into upgrading their account or purchasing add-on services, the final role was to ensure that the call lasted for 20 minutes then drop the call. The helpline was £1.00 per minute and there was some sort of rule that stated that a there was a £20 maximum per phone call. Any issues that remained un-resolved where passed on to 2nd line support, and then on...

Local Council :biggrin