1st Helpdesk interview

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Fresh108, Mar 24, 2009.

1. Fresh108

Fresh108 Bit Poster

Hey guys,

I got a call for my 1st ever Trainee IT Helpdesk interview for thursday.
    I was just wondering what type of technical questions they might ask me? Im pretty good at interpersonal questions, and on the spot questions about my CV. I've never had an interview with someone asking technical questions? How much should I prepare technically for a role like this? What might they ask?

Any feedback would be much appreciated.

Thank you guys

Certifications: BSc Computer Science, A+
    WIP: MCDST
  2. Vengal

Vengal Bit Poster

i know you got a lot of things to prepare for, but may i ask u if u are an IT grad?

tip: do a search in google for interview preps

WIP: A+ N+
  3. Fresh108

Fresh108 Bit Poster

Yep. I graduated in Computer Science in 2007! Made the mistake of travelling and since I've been back Im having no luck breaking into the industry.

4. Vengal

Vengal Bit Poster

wat does the job involve? i.e. job spec?

WIP: A+ N+
  5. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

Sorry to hear that. Yeah, any break between college and employment looks like you've been struggling to find a job, regardless of what the truth actually is. :(

To be honest, they could ask you anything and everything. The questions are as varied as the companies you interview with. There's really no way to prepare other than confidencewise... get a good night's sleep, and go into the interview confidently (obviously, without being arrogantly confident).

Best advice I can give is this: if you don't know the answer to something, don't try to tap dance your way through it... be honest. A good interviewer can smell a BS answer from a mile away.

Best of luck!