Would like some help Please......

Discussion in 'General CompTIA Certifications' started by TechGeek, May 6, 2010.

1. TechGeek

TechGeek New Member

Firstly sorry if i posted in the wrong section..

I am currently a student doing his A levels but the thing the options I picked I do not enjoy them. So I was looking for something else to do and I came across Comptia A+ and N+. They were intriguing, so i decided to check other peoples views on the course and i came across this forum.

So on to the dilemma, I am 18 atm and am looking for something new. I have enough knowledge on pcs to build my own one from ground up which i did...and minimal networking knowledge, well i know the basics. I have no previous work experience but i may have secured a position in Mobile phone shop. Looking at the course i was wondering whether after completing said courses I may be able to get a job or what possible courses I can take in the future to be more certified so to say. Can someone please also break it down as to whether i will need a trainer or I can be just as successful doing home learning. Also how long do both courses take and what future would I have to do, that is of course if am eligible for this course.

2. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

A+, Network+, and the MCDST are the way to go, so you're on the right track.

Yes, you can do them on your own without a trainer.

How long will it take? As long as it takes. Some people need no study at all... others take years. You will likely be somewhere in the middle of that. :)

If you certify on the A+ and Network+ before 1/1/11, you won't have to recertify every 3 years... those who certify after that date will. Currently, the MCDST is a lifetime certification.

Welcome to the forums!