Would like some advice please

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by dfryerd, Aug 31, 2008.

1. dfryerd

dfryerd New Member

Hello everyone it has been a while since i posted on cert forums,because i have had a busy six months.Any way I would like to ask for some help and advice please,first off i have a+ and mcdst and 70-270, i failed n+,but i have been working as a field support technician for the last six months,and I do everthing from updating software on servers,changing fusers in printers,networking printers,basic networking and trouble shooting and looking after approx 300 desktop users.My problem is that i feel like a jack of all trades but a master of none,I must say that I really enjoy desktop support,dealing with people etc,but sometimes I just lack the knowledge to complete some tasks,ie one time i was asked to go to the server room and re assign some users to different network points on the main switch,i did it in the end but it took me far to long,so what i am looking for is to study for another course to give me a bit better general knowledge for the type of job i am doing,I was thinking of re-doing network+ or going for ccna,but i am not sure if ccna would be to much for me to take on board as it seems to be quite in depth,and be a bit overkill for my type of job.I plan on study for the next three months and take an exam around December time,the reason for this study is I plan to try and get a better paid job in new year,any suggestions would be very well recieved

Certifications: Comptia a+ MCDST 70-270
    WIP: n+ 70-290
  2. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

Go for the Network+ again, to be honest that unless you actually work with Cisco equipment the CCNA would not be much use to you (1. Cisco certs expire and needs to be renewed every 3 years and 2. Cisco certs are geared up to implementing Cisco equipment).