Worth doing a MSc? right after a BSc

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by dave_gray2077, Jul 4, 2010.

1. dave_gray2077

dave_gray2077 Bit Poster

What do people think of getting an MSc. Do you think it’s worth it? Any thoughts people would like to share?

I currently have just finished my BSc and have 4 years 1st line support experience. Currently provided 1st line support to the NHS but I’m based at C&W.

Funding my masters is not a problem but I was wondering if it improves promotion chances etc in the long run. I am thinking of long term. Currently I’m just working on my MCDST.

On top of that I have my 1 degree, 1 foundation degree, and CCNA (CCNA was a freebee that went along with a degree so I had a shot at it since the exam was free and passed)

Was thinking of doing it now while my rents are willing to help support me as an MA MSc never expires.

At the moment I seem to have hit a glass ceiling and can’t get off the 1st line no matter how hard I try. Seems to be all the current jobs don’t want to know graduates since I don’t have a MSCE/SQL/”random big list of other technology” experiences and a whole host of other skills that take years to build up. I seem to have the feeling that if you can’t hit the ground running in an IT job right now and do everything on a network for database admin to network engineer at the same you ain’t got a chance at getting any job.

Right now iv even been to "IT technician" (job description = that of a mouse fixer, printer unjammer etc) job interviews and sat inform of CISCO racks etc and grilled on my SQL etc and this is for 14k jobs. Is this normal for a new grad to expect.

What I don’t want to happen and the thing putting me off is leaving my 1st line support job that i had had for 4 years to do the MSc and them educate myself out of the job market as 1st line I assume won’t want to touch a MSc as I will be a flyer risk and 2nd 3rd line won’t have me because I don’t have any actual experience or the MCSE on my CV.