Worth attempting CCENT, but no experience, have Network+

Discussion in 'General Cisco Certifications' started by jo74, Sep 1, 2009.

1. jo74

jo74 Byte Poster

Just wondering whether it would be worth my while achieving the CCENT. But the problem is I've no experience. Although I've gained the Network+. But I do have some spare time to fill.

Certifications: A+, N+, Sec+
    WIP: CCENT, CCNA
  2. supernova

supernova Gigabyte Poster

CISCO's own words, if that helps?

would really help if you could get some experiance whilst doing it and use that N+ you have

Certifications: Loads
    WIP: Lots
  3. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

Only problem with that, Andi, is that successful careers in networking are usually preceded by years in a successful career as an entry-level tech, desktop support tech, and server admin. You don't start from zero and jump right into a network administration career. No employer in their right mind would hire someone without experience to administer Cisco gear.

Jo, I've been in IT a dozen years, and in my opinion, it will not do you much good to get the CCENT without having the smallest bit of real-world, hands-on Cisco router administration experience, or at the very least, the opportunity to start getting that experience. The knowledge is great... but the certification won't be that useful to you without the experience on your CV to back it up.

Certifications: CISSP, MCSE+I, MCSE: Security, MCSE: Messaging, MCDST, MCDBA, MCTS, OCP, CCNP, CCDP, CCNA Security, CCNA Voice, CNE, SCSA, Security+, Linux+, Server+, Network+, A+
    WIP: Just about everything!
  4. jo74

jo74 Byte Poster

Thanks for that advice.

So any takers for a hastily purchased CCENT book :dry

5. Theprof

Theprof Petabyte Poster