Working in the UK question ?

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Oh no it isnt, Jul 10, 2010.

1. Oh no it isnt

Oh no it isnt Bit Poster

Hi Folks,
    Im 30 years old and currently living in Dublin and looking to move to the UK to get a Level 1 support Role.
    I currently have MOS, ECDL, A+ , Network+ , MCP 271 + 272 (MCDST) and (MCTS Windows 7)
    But I have no real world experience. Im just wondering would these certs alone get me a level 1 job
    In the UK or should I study something more? Anyone any advice on what I should do next?
    TIA

Certifications: MOS,ECDL,A+,NET+,MCP,MCDST,MCTS (BSc)
    WIP: MCSA RFID+
  2. Sparky
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Sparky Zettabyte Poster Moderator

That’s a good collection of entry level certs there mate. Should help out having them.

Where are you moving to?

Certifications: MSc MCSE MCSA:M MCSA:S MCITP:EA MCTS(x5) MS-900 AZ-900 Security+ Network+ A+
    WIP: Microsoft Certs
  3. JK2447
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

JK2447 Petabyte Poster Administrator Premium Member

Yeah you have all you need until you get into 2nd line there. Experience is King so try and get some volunteer work under your belt, anything to validate your certifications. I wouldn't take any more certs until you land your first role as you don't want your certs to go beyond your experience. Its a hard market right now but an old friend of mine is getting interviews for 1LS roles, but admittedly he's worked as 1st line for a global firm :S

I don't suppose you have a degree do you? We have just taken on 2 graduates in my team

Certifications: VCP4, 5, 6, 6.5, 6.7, 7, 8, VCAP DCV Design, VMConAWS Skill, Google Cloud Digital Leader, BSc (Hons), HND IT, HND Computing, ITIL-F, MBCS CITP, MCP (270,290,291,293,294,298,299,410,411,412) MCTS (401,620,624,652) MCSA:Security, MCSE: Security, Security+, CPTS, CCA (XenApp6.5), MCSA 2012, VSP, VTSP
    WIP: Google Cloud Certs
  4. Oh no it isnt