Working as a ICT Officer for council

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by momer79, Apr 20, 2011.

1. momer79

momer79 Bit Poster

Hi,

I am wondering if it is worth working for a council as a ICT Officer when people are talking about budget cuts and losing jobs in public sector?

Is southend on sea good place to live?

2. Apexes

Apexes Gigabyte Poster

If they're actively recruiting for one, then i'd imagine they'd need somebody - only they'll be able to tell you that if you go for an interview.

No idea about southend!

Certifications: 70-243 MCTS: ConfigMgr 2012 | MCSE: Private Cloud
  3. westernkings

westernkings Gigabyte Poster

As Apexes said - if they are hiring then they must need one. Last time I worked in the Public Sector it was for a fixed 12 month contract and at the end they wanted me permanently. What does the job involve?

Certifications: MCITP:VA, MCITP:EA, MCDST, MCTS, MCITP:EST7, MCITP:SA, PRINCE2, ITILv3
  4. momer79

momer79 Bit Poster

Role is Software Support and Development.

Did you enjoy working in public sector?

Pay scale is 27880 - 33450, does it mean that the starting salary will always be 27880?

Last edited: Apr 20, 2011
  5. dales

dales Terabyte Poster