Wireless Router

Discussion in 'Networks' started by ffreeloader, Sep 11, 2007.

1. ffreeloader

ffreeloader Terabyte Poster

Does anyone have any experience with one of these? My Netgear, at only a little more than a year old is giving me fits. I upgraded my internet account from 3 to 5 megs and if I download more than just 3 or 4 megs at the rated speed of my connection the router drops out and I have to reboot it to reconnect it again. It doesn't do this at 3 megs and below, but if I get a fast download link it kicks out in 30 seconds or so. That's a major pain when I'm doing 500-700 mB downloads.

So, I'm looking to upgrade this hunk of junk I have and was looking to see if anyone had used the Buffalo router.

Certifications: MCSE, MCDBA, CCNA, A+
    WIP: LPIC 1
  2. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

You've already upgraded the Netgear's firmware, I assume?

Unfortunately, I have no experience with any of Buffalo's products.

Certifications: CISSP, MCSE+I, MCSE: Security, MCSE: Messaging, MCDST, MCDBA, MCTS, OCP, CCNP, CCDP, CCNA Security, CCNA Voice, CNE, SCSA, Security+, Linux+, Server+, Network+, A+
    WIP: Just about everything!
  3. ffreeloader

Yeah, there are no more firmware upgrades for this thing. It's been a piece of junk since I got it. Originally, right out of the box, I could only get dial-up speeds to WAN connections with it. It was so slow I couldn't believe it. I upgraded the firmware and it took off, but gradually over this last year it's been doing worse and worse, and then this bit about having to reboot it multiple times whenever I do large downloads is just the last straw.

It seems that Newegg's customers like it, and it's been reviewed to death, but you never know who is writing reviews, and what their motivation is.

4. r.h.lee

r.h.lee Gigabyte Poster

ffreeloader,

What make and model is the wireless NIC you're using to access the wireless router?