Windows Deployment Services Error!!!! Help!!!!

Discussion in 'MCDST' started by hugorilho, Apr 12, 2009.

1. hugorilho

hugorilho Byte Poster

Hey guys. I'm studying for the MCDST. I know it doesn't cover windows server 2003 but it does cover remote installation services so I've decided to install win2k3 sp2 in a VM and create an RIS. To cut the long story short, I've used this tutorial:

http://www.windows-noob.com/forums/index.php?act=attach&type=post&id=270

Everyting was running just fine until I've realised that RIS was replaced by windows deployment services but as you all already know, there's a legacy mode in WDS suitable for deploying XP in client computer.

So after I've followed all the steps explained in the tutorial, i.e., having created a domain controller (active directory), a DNS server, a DCHP server, and a file server, I went for the WDS and I got this error: "the specified domain either does not exist or could not be contacted" (check print screen "WDS error" attached to this post).

Did i do something wrong? Bare in mind that I've strictly followed all the steps of tutorial as I'm a plain old newbie (with a very curious mind, though hehe!)

PS: one weird detail - I can't access the internet (for example I can´t go googling in IE for win2k3; i could do it before i got into this mess...); I think that's because there's was one particular step where I had to give the domain controller a different IP address from the one that my host computer has. I've print screened the step as well - "step 1" and "step 2". Me and my home mates have a wireless LAN with a router so i just did what I was asked to do...I must admit that I still don't know how to handle most of the technical details of these procedures. Please help me.

Attached Files:

Certifications: MCDST
  2. MLP

MLP Kilobyte Poster

Hi

From the Domain Controller, can you ping it by name? Also, can you ping the domain name? What does it return?