Which version of VMware should I use for Network+ ?

Discussion in 'Network+' started by Neil, Feb 23, 2008.

1. Neil

Neil Byte Poster

Hi all,

For my Network+ studies, I want to play around with Server 2003 and XP WITHOUT using 2 different systems, hard drives or dual-booting. Everyone suggests that VMware is the way to go, since you can create multiple virtual systems with different OS's, etc. However, when I checked I saw that there were many different versions of VMware with all sorts of stuff.

I have NO knowledge of VMware, except that it was what my teacher had on all the PCs that we used during our PC tecnician course (it enabled use to play around with Win98, Win2000, Win2000 Server & XP). That was years ago and I'm now beginning to see the importance of it. I would just like you guys to tell me which version of VMware would be the best to use for my studies. Especially one that does not demand alot from a cpu. I read several threads over time with you guys recommending VMware for this type of study, but can you plase recommend the best version for me to use? Thanks in advance! :biggrin

Certifications: CompTIA A+ & Network+
    WIP: MCSA: 70-270
  2. Luddym

Luddym Megabyte Poster

If you are looking at getting VMware free, then:

http://www.vmware.com/products/server/

VM Server is the thing. (Used to be called GSX)

Certifications: VCP,A+, N+, MCSA, MCSE
    WIP: Christmas Drunkard
  3. Neil

Neil Byte Poster

Thank you very much! I'm checking out the info on the site and starting the download. Even though its free, I sure hope that it doesn't have any limitations which would require you to get the "full version".

Ok, I just checked it.......its definitely FREE........NO LIMITATIONS!!! Thanks a bunch mate!

4. Fergal1982

Fergal1982 Petabyte Poster

And again, to inject some realism here. VMWare Server is designed to run on a Server Host. Ie you install it onto a system already running a server OS (such as Win Server 2003).