which jobs will I qualify for

Discussion in 'General Cisco Certifications' started by kareem1000, May 12, 2008.

1. kareem1000

kareem1000 New Member

Hi,

I am currently studying on a cisco CCNA course.

My question is after completion of this course, which jobs will I be qualified for. Which jobs would I reasonable be able to undertake.

I do realise that currently in networking there is a supply and demand imbalance. I realise the jobs that you list, I may not actually get.

When you reply could you give me a job specification ( i.e duties/taks performed for each job ). I like to get a true understanding and of what each job entails.

Regards,
    Kareem.

2. Robroy

Robroy Bit Poster

Good question, I want to know the same, because I'm studying for ccna.

3. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

Certifications don't magically qualify you for jobs... experience qualifies you for jobs. So the answer is: it depends on how much experience you have. If you have real-world business IT experience administering Cisco routers, the CCNA will help you get network administraiton jobs. If you have no experience, then the CCNA won't do you any good in finding a job - and can actually make it MORE difficult for you to get the only job that a tech without experience is qualified to get: an entry-level job (help desk tech, field service tech, level 1 tech, front line tech, PC repair tech).

Certifications: CISSP, MCSE+I, MCSE: Security, MCSE: Messaging, MCDST, MCDBA, MCTS, OCP, CCNP, CCDP, CCNA Security, CCNA Voice, CNE, SCSA, Security+, Linux+, Server+, Network+, A+
    WIP: Just about everything!
  4. Crito

Crito Banned

search job boards like http://www.computerjobs.com

EDIT: entry level positions are usually something like server operator or NOC technician and, like BM said, with experience you'll qualify for administrator and engineer.

Certifications: A few
    WIP: none
  5. Suttar