Which job to apply for?

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by exonje, Apr 15, 2015.

1. exonje

exonje Byte Poster

Hey peeps,

I currently work as a 3rd line desktop engineer for a very large organisation, my role is very specific, anything outside of my job specification goes to the specific team. Anyway, I am looking to join a smaller company where I can gain a much broader knowledge. I have found the perfect company not far from me with 2 vacancies, 1st and 2nd line.

Now I don't want to mess this up, but am not sure which one to apply for. I only meet half of the 2nd line job specifications so I am wary of applying for that. The first line role I may look a bit overqualified when applying, but I really don't mind working my way up. If I apply for the first line only I am worried this will come across as lack of confidence/ambition to the future employer.

What do you think?

2. dmarsh
    Honorary Member 500 Likes Award

dmarsh Petabyte Poster

Apply for second line, if you don't get it say you really like the company and are prepared to work your way up.

Jaron78 likes this.
  3. Coupe2T

Coupe2T Megabyte Poster

I would also say go 2nd line, and just be honest and make it clear that you understand you don't meet all the skillset, but you currently work at level 3 in your current company and feel that you are in a good position to pick up the other skills, then make very clear that the company is the main attraction and that you would be willing to work up or do what you need to do in order to get up to speed in the quickest possible manner.

Certifications: ECDL, Does that Count!?!
  4. exonje

exonje Byte Poster

I'm just a bit nervous there are 12 job specs listed and I meet 5 maybe 6.

5. exonje

exonje Byte Poster

Also, I am really trying to tailor my cover letter to the company. and am not sure about this paragraph. Is it condescending?