Which CMS?

Discussion in 'Web Development & Web Hosting' started by nugget, Oct 25, 2010.

1. nugget
    Honorary Member

nugget Junior toady

Hi guys, I'm looking to set up a website for my wife where she can post her pictures of the stuff she makes and so on. It will also contain updated information as to where she will be to sell her stuff too. I have a site set up for her now but the problem is that it is time intensive for me to maintain as it's all done by hand so the idea is that she could do it (so it needs to be relatively straightforward to use). I can set up a CMS for her using one of the following provided by the website provider

Typo3 - CMS
    Joomla - CMS
    DotNetNuke - CMS
    osCommerce - Shop

The question is which one should I choose? I have no experience with any of them or with any CMS system at all (just html and css).

Thanks

Certifications: A+ | Network+ | Security+ | MCP (270,271,272,290,620) | MCDST | MCTS:Vista
    WIP: MCSA, 70-622,680,685
  2. billyr

billyr Kilobyte Poster

Joomla has a good rep, but I think it takes a bit of learning. I'm a bit of a cms biff myself so I stick to wordpress which is very simple to use.

Certifications: CCNP, CCSI, MCSE W2k/W2k3, MCITP_SA
    WIP: Taking it easy for a while.
  3. LukeP

LukeP Gigabyte Poster

For what you need I would recommend WordPress.

Joomla is bloated and feature rich and you don't need half (or more) features it provides.
    What platform do you use as I can see DotNetNuke (ASP.NET) and Joomla (PHP) apps there on the list?

Basically you don't want to run PHP CMS on IIS. It will work but performance will be poor from my experience.

Problem is that for ASP.NET there isn't anything good and free out there. DotNetNuke is the only option and it's not great for customisation (mix of C# and VB - literally).

Personally I would go for PHP host and WordPress. Loads of plugins and add-ons there (Calendar for where she is going to be etc.)