Which Cisco CNNA Course?

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by shadowgeist, Jul 16, 2005.

1. shadowgeist

shadowgeist New Member

Hi everyone!

I'm relatively new here and I'm also relatively new to certification in general, so please be nice :D

Well here I go ... I've been up all night yesterday thinking about which course(s) I should go for as I need to make up my mind asap - I need to make a decision by this coming Monday!

I've just had a meeting with an advisor called Tony from NITLC on Friday afternoon (yesterday) about doing a TES (Technical
    and Systems Engineer) course with them for £3,900 including all exam fees.

The above course gives you the following certifications:

(1) CompTIA A+
    (2) CompTIA Network +
    (3) Microsoft MCP
    (4) Microsoft MCSE
    (5) Cisco CCNA
    and finally also a TES IT Tested Diploma (whatever that is?)

The advisor's hard-sell was very good, I bombarded him with tons of questions and he answered them all positively and without any long pauses.

The distant learning course sounds fantastic so far, but he did mention any exam re-takes I will have to pay for myself - fare enough I think?

Of all the possible certicates that I can gain from this course, the certifications I really, really want are numbers 1,2 and 5: (A+,Network+, Cisco CCNA)

However, I will have to go 3/4 of the way through their entire course before becoming CCNA certified, btw the entire course should take an average candidate2 years to complete I have been told. Does anyone beg to differ?

.... My problem lies here:

(1) I live in Worcester, my local College also does a Cisco CCNA course. It's part-time (every Thursday for 3 hours) & it's only a 1 year course for a steal at £339, its only £50 for Cisco exam fees if I pass internal exams, else its £100!