which cert route?

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by tumbler, Nov 30, 2007.

1. tumbler

tumbler New Member

Hi Guys,

I wonder if I could pick your brains. I have a peculiar question that may shock a few techies here, but it's a serious question borne out of pragmatism. I have a few further questions, too.

My situation. I am a unix sysadmin of 6 years. My problem. I am always working away from home (ie. London) and have grown tired of this, particularly as I have a young family. Now, I've just been made redundant (was a contractor).
    My problem #2. There are very few unix roles in my home area, or surrounding (and I'm not prepared to commute more than an hour each way).

My prospective solution? (This is where the potential for blasphemy might come in from certain groups). There are many windows jobs around my home disrict, so I am thinking of - wait for it - retraining as a windows sysAdmin. There, I said it, wasn't so bad.

Basically, if it means getting home each evening and watching the children grow up then it has to be done. Plus Idon't mind windows as an OS, either, having used it on my home PC for years.

So, my questions. What route do you guys recommend I take? Now, I'm 40 yrs old, by the way and I'm more than willing to spend time paying my dues in first line support and work my way up gathering tech accreditation en route. Is this recommended?

Or should I spend the winter gaining certs and then hit the job market in the spring - albeit with no industry experience?

Which certs do you recommend, by the way? I have an MSc in computer science so my basic computing knowledge is sound. Should I plump for MCSE 2000, or MCSE 2003 or both, or neither?

Any comments gratefully received.

TIA.

2. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster