Where to start???

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by Timostag, Sep 3, 2008.

1. Timostag

Timostag Bit Poster

Hi everyone,

I am 20 years old and have been working in customer services for the last 5 years, but I have decided to pursue a career in IT as I have always enjoyed working around computers and believe I could get alot of fulfillment from it.

I am interested in becoming a systems administrator, down the line but I have no qualifications or experience in IT, although I wouldn't say I am a complete beginner- I have build my own Pc from scratch with help from on-line guides, and would say I have a good knowledge of XP OS, All in All I would say I am an Intermediate-advanced home user.

After advice from a friend of a friend I started looking at doing an MCSA course (I wouldn't do a self course as I need stuctured enviroment) but after looking through this forum I'm unsure if This is the right course to start on? Maybe it would be better to do a lower course such as A+/N+ and if I did could one of these courses open the doors to an entry level IT job so I can start getting hands on experience before I start the MCSA?

Please reply

Certifications: A+,MTA:Networking, MTA: Server Fundamentals MTA:Operating Systems MTA:Security Fundamentals ITIL Foundation
  2. Naive

Naive Byte Poster

Hi & Welcome to CF :)

I would recommend you start with the A+ / N+ and get an entry level I.T job. 1st line support is the usual place to start from the beginning. Tailor your CV so that you are pushing the customer service side of experience. As you have no experience in the I.T field, you will need to emphasise on your customer focus. Another cert to consider is the MCDST as this gives a good solid grounding for 1st line support jobs. Get your CV out there ASAP and put on your CV that you are currently studying for A+ / N+ (and MCDST if you choose to)