Where to start

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by Terne, Mar 30, 2004.

1. Terne

Terne New Member

Hi

As I've said in my into I'm very new to computers and dont really know where to start. I'm very good at problem solving and when something goes wrong with my PC I would rather try for hours to solve the problem myself than ask for help.

So where to start?

2. tripwire45
    Honorary Member

tripwire45 Zettabyte Poster

I take it this means that you are used to opening up your PC and working on the hardware. It would help us to respond if we had a better idea of what you know now. When I took my first class, I'd never even seen the inside of a PC before and was afraid I'd break something. I'd hate you give you advice without knowing just how new you are. Details? :)

Certifications: A+ and Network+
  3. Terne

Terne New Member

Sorry Tripwire, I'm not used to this sort of thing.

No I've only ever opended and looked inside a PC I was meaning when things go wrong when I'm using my PC. I'm very new to computers and have a very limited knowledge. I really need to learn more about the computer and how things work.

4. tripwire45
    Honorary Member

If you're looking to make computers a career, you might start with some class or program that will teach you the very basics. I know a number of members attend various IT learning centers in the UK. They'll have to point you in the right direction since I'm in the US.

If you're a self-starter and self-learner, you might want to pick up a copy of Mike Meyers A+ All-In-One Exam Guide. It's something of a classic and the A+ certification is the basic, entry-level cert for PC hardware technicians. It explains a great deal, is comprehensive and quite easy to read.