Where to go from A+

Discussion in 'A+' started by Wayward21, Sep 29, 2007.

1. Wayward21

Wayward21 New Member

A few weeks ago I really decided to start pushing myself to move into the IT sector. I've always enjoyed IT as a hobby, and I wanted to take it further. I'm currently in a reasonably average job as office administration which I've been doing for a few years, so I have no relevant IT experience at all.

I've checked the local job sites and theres quite a bit of work for helpdesk people, but I've not got a lot of chance being shortlisted with no experience and no qualifications; a few offer training but not many.

A+ seems a common entry level qoutation, so I grabbed a book a few weeks back and I don't think I'm far off being confident enough to pass the test, which I'll be booking soon. After that, what is my best bet? Should I take another CompTIA course, or a different course, or just start applying for jobs? I've read a lot here about people who are spending too much time doing certs who have no experience at all, and I want to get a new job as soon as possible!

Thing is i'd rather do my certification before I get a helpdesk job as I'm earning more money right now than I'll get at an entry level helpdesk position, and I don't want to start applying for loads of jobs with just an A+ if there are other qualifications I could learn relatively quickly that would really look good on my CV. Im honestly not looking at the 80k plus salaries (haha) advertised by companies like computeach, 14,000 will do for now!

2. Rob1234

Rob1234 Megabyte Poster Forum Leader

Start looking for a job right away experience is so much more better on your cv then any certifications will be. After the A+ I would recommend MCDST or N+.

Certifications: A few.
  3. GiddyG

GiddyG Terabyte Poster Gold Member