Where to Begin?

Discussion in 'A+' started by MFirm, Dec 24, 2008.

1. MFirm

MFirm Bit Poster

Hi

I want to start to self study for a career in IT. Where do i begin? What do i need to do 1st? I assume the CompTIA A+ is the 1st certification is this where i begin? If so, what books, materials should i buy?

Many Thanks

MFirm

2. Daniel

Daniel Byte Poster

Welcome to CF!

What sort of experience do you have with computers? :biggrin

Certifications: 70-270, 70-290, 70-291
    WIP: None, but learning SEO/SEM
  3. MFirm

MFirm Bit Poster

Im pretty good with them, im not a beginner. Self taught really.

4. MFirm

MFirm Bit Poster

Hey!

Ive just found the thread i was looking for - a guide to self study. I imagine this is my best bet?

5. Daniel

Daniel Byte Poster

Well I can't really speak for A+, but everyone on this forum who's does it would probably highly recommend you start with A+ as a good starting point :biggrin

I went down the Microsoft path, which if you want we can discuss further.

Certifications: 70-270, 70-290, 70-291
    WIP: None, but learning SEO/SEM
  6. MFirm

MFirm Bit Poster

Thansk for your quick replies but i think i will start with the CompTIA and then work my way from there - thanks again

7. Evilwheato

Evilwheato Kilobyte Poster

You'll see a lot of people who have studied A+ and then moved onto Network+. After they go onto Microsoft certs :)

8. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

Good choice :) The A+ give a good solid vendor neutral base to build on, and unlike the MCDST (70-271 & 70-272) it covers physical hardware and customer service. The A+ & Network+ compliments the MCDST (and vice-versa).

-ken

Certifications: MSc, PGDip, PGCert, BSc, HNC, LCGI, MBCS CITP, MCP, MCSA, MCSE, MCE, A+, N+, S+, Server+
    WIP: MSc Cyber Security
  9. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster