Where should I start

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by sigh100, Aug 19, 2008.

1. sigh100

sigh100 New Member

I am a videoconference technician for a University who also uses desktop based videoconferencing as well (access grid etc.) .I have already achieved a OCN certificate in computer networking that alledgedly covered 80% of Network+ material! (More like 60% from what I've read!) I also have completed the Cisco academy for CCNA as I got it really cheap so I threw myself into it! I didn't sit the exam as a) wasn't confident b)felt the certification wasn't relevant to my career. I also in my job image workstations install software, assign static ip's to devices on the uni network and build and install PC's in lecture theatres etc. I use linux and windows both at work and at home(educational licenses are a great perk of the job!). I also run a basic ubuntu server as a media station with samba file sharing etc.
    I hoping my current career path is still considered IT entry level by you guys but I know I'm a little off the beaten path as it were. I can take any course I want in my institution but I don't see any sense in wasting my time if it's not helping me in terms of forwarding my career.
    Where do I want to be! Well I'd like to be more in IT than I am I like networking specifically but I am quite keen on linux administration too. However I need to work on my career/experience.
    What certifications should I be aiming for at present. I'm thinking of going back to Network+ as a starting point as I still think CCNA will be useless to me without some experience though having said that the only certification that seems very relevant to my current career is ironically the new convergence+ which I see quite a few of you be-littleing as it were. I could head more towards VOIP and telephony which may be more relevant too. I need to get past this confusion and set some goals!
    What do you more learned/experienced/qualified guys think/recommend.