Where should I go now ? Is it best for me to look for a new role ?

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by sahmed, Mar 14, 2015.

1. sahmed

sahmed Bit Poster

Hi guys,

Well I'm in my third job now. Had two previous jobs. I work as an first line IT technician and I'm apart of a group of 7 tech guys with a line manager, one server guy and one network guy. Well, I'm pretty new and have been here for 7 months. I do everything the tech guys do and more, in theory i am lower then them. The pay is not good but I enjoy my job and get along with everyone and the customers like me.

I log calls, upgrade PC's. Migrate users from XP win 7 or 8. Set up PC's and laptops. Install software. Look after printers etc.

However, due to company growth they hired three new tech guys. I never got the role. I thought the new guys would have been tech experts and thought they deserved it etc but I was mistaken. They have started and have been here over a month but struggle with the basics. My manger uses the term they just started as an excuse. The only difference is they have a little bit more job experience than me.

My biggest concern is that they earn 14k plus than me and I am still doing all the work as the other tech guys are based at different sites.

I am stuck not just with regards to pay but also technical access. As I really want to get into 2nd line and get into the server / network sides of things but they don't let me.

What would you recommend please ?

2. SimonD
    Honorary Member

SimonD Terabyte Poster

One thing you're not telling us is how old you are and how long you have been doing IT, if I tell you that I have been in IT for over 15 years now and until about 9 months ago was a senior (level 3) engineer then you must realise that it 'could' take you a couple of years to progress from level 1 to higher levels. It's not something that may happen in a year for example.