Where do I start?

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by Nick_G, Aug 28, 2006.

1. Nick_G

Nick_G Bit Poster

Hi all.

I am a newbie to this IT malarkey and after trying on a course with ICS have decided to scrap this idea (they expect a newbie to study and pass the SQL Server 2000 exam in 3 months from scratch).

Ideally, I would like to end up in a job where I can combine computers and creativity, anything from web design, to site building, audio/video, maybe even animation. Software development in the same area also appeals, e.g. web, graphics, audio and video.

I already have an HNC in Multimedia since 2003 but haven't used it since as my job background is in science/laboratory work.

I realise as a newbie it is going to take time. I am going to do the self-study route and am wondering what the best route to take is.

Any help or advice is much appreciated.

Nick.

2. zimbo
    Honorary Member

zimbo Petabyte Poster

Hi!

I suggest you look at the A+ first up... it will give you a solid foundation for whatever path you want to follow in IT and will get your confidence on the up so you can tackle those harder certs.... Have you considered the certfications from CIW?

Certifications: B.Sc, MCDST & MCSA
    WIP: M.Sc - Computer Forensics
  3. Nick_G

Nick_G Bit Poster

Hi zimbo.

I was actually doing an A+ with another vendor before I got accepted by ICS. The CIW courses look very interesting though.

There aren't any training providers near me though. Do I have to do a CIW course through a training provider or can I do it myself from home?

4. Stoney

Stoney Megabyte Poster

Hey Nick,

I almost did the CIW with CompuTeach as part of their Webmasters course, but they wanted £4500 for it!! I never looked into studying it anywhere else because at the time none of the webby jobs that were advertised ask for CIW certification. I'm not sure if this is still the case, or how recognised the qualification is by industry peeps today.