Where do I go from here???

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by CyBeRkId2002, May 14, 2004.

1. CyBeRkId2002

CyBeRkId2002 New Member

Newbie here, just want to say what a great, informative, friendly forum you have here...

Im facing a pretty tough decision very shortly. I finish my degree in psychology and computing in a couple of weeks and havent got a clue where to go from here? As ive done a joint degree I dont feel I have enough knowledge in going directly into a job in either of those fields so heres what id been thinking:

Get a fairly permanent job for 12months in anything to pay rent etc...
    At the same time save up for my A+ Certification and possibly Networks+...
    After certification look for a job in the computing industry but ill still face the problem of having no practical experience...

Can anyone advise me on what might be a good route to take as I am unsure at the present time. Also, on average, how much can I expect to pay to gain my A+?

Thanks in advance,
    Michael Jones

2. Jakamoko
    Honorary Member

Jakamoko On the move again ...

Hi Michael :)

Firstly, welcome to CertForums.

Secondly, I'd agree that A+ (and prob Network+ too) are almost certainly going to stand you in great stead for any area you decide to pursue in computing.

However, so we can offer you more advice, you'd really need to tell us just what areas you find most interesting. I mean, are you a hardware freak, or into networking or security ? Or like software/programming, or web design ?

These are all different areas (with many overlapping borders) and many have seperate certification routes you can choose to follow. With some more info from you, I'm sure the Guys around here will be more than willing and able to give you more advice.

Good luck in whatever you choose, Mate :)

Certifications: MCP, A+, Network+
    WIP: Clarity
  3. tripwire45
    Honorary Member

tripwire45 Zettabyte Poster