What's a man to do?

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by fg, Jan 19, 2006.

1. fg

fg New Member

Hello everyone.

um....where to start..............
    I am going to be 40 this year and at the moment I work in the oil and gas pipeline business. This usualy means either have spells of unemployment or travelling around the world to work. I have 2 young kids and I am not perpared to be away from them, so I spend times unemployed.
    I decided last year that the time had come for me to get out of this industry and into IT (I need secure work all year round, so I can at least get a mortgage and buy a house before it's too late). My idea was to get a CCNA and follow that carreer path, but........ I live in the highlands of Scotland, the nearest city is Inverness (a small city but rapidly growing) and there doesn't seem to be any companies there providing Cisco network support (I guess they all use companies in the central belt), so even if I get this qualification, there will be nowhere local for me to work (we are prepared to 'up sticks' and move to where the work is, if need be). I have been looking at the job market and it's the usual thing....all anyone wants is experienced people.
    I can turn my hand to just about anything, so the Cisco carreer is not set in stone, it just seemed like a good place to start.

I guess what I am asking is;
    1. What's the chance of someone with no experience and a nice fresh CCNA getting work (pref' in the highlands (although that's not set in stone either), untill I get some experience)?
    2. Is Cisco the best route into an IT carreer (bearing in mind that I have done some of the CCNA ground work, and got myself some 2500 series routers and DTE-DCE cabling to play with), or should I be looking at something else?
    I tried my hand at web design, but I am not artistic (www.umaxpipeweld.com is one of mine :oops: ).

I would be very gratefull for any ideas, advice or comments anyone has.

Thanks for reading.