What would you do

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by michael78, Jun 19, 2011.

1. michael78

michael78 Terabyte Poster

Guys really need some views on this. Took a job that is a 12 month contract (contract is with the company so get holiday etc but got it through an agency) going permanent after the 12 months. The problem is they have restricted my access in 2nd line so I can't do any network administration and only have read access on servers. This has really cheesed me off as I needed to update a print driver and had to pass to 3rd line which embarrassed the hell out of me. I've asked for my access to be opened up but been told in the past it's been refused by 3rd line. My train of thought is if you don't use it you loose it with knowledge and the fact I've spent a lot of time and money on server side certs.

Yesterday I was offered the chance of a permanent job in a sector I have a lot of experience in (more money as well but that isn't my focus) and a job more suited to me through an agency I have a good relationship with.

Should I go for it or stay put and at least do the 12 months and then look? I sort of feel duty bound to stay even though the job is too simplistic.

Any thoughts?

Certifications: A+ | Network+ | Security+ | MCP | MCDST | MCTS: Hyper-V | MCTS: AD | MCTS: Exchange 2007 | MCTS: Windows 7 | MCSA: 2003 | ITIL Foundation v3 | CCA: Xenapp 5.0 | MCITP: Enterprise Desktop Administrator on Windows 7 | MCITP: Enterprise Desktop Support Technician on Windows 7
    WIP: Online SAN Overview, VCP in December 2011
  2. 1/4

1/4 Byte Poster

It depends entirely on your job role/specification.

If you cannot realistically perform your job without a monkey on your back where you are now then complain about it first and see if they resolve the issue for you - you can always leave for the other job...