What to do?

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by dpatel, Mar 29, 2009.

1. dpatel

dpatel New Member

I have currently found myself unemployed after job cuts and i am now wanting to get into IT as think it is a stable career(IT is always going to be needed). I graduated in 2005 with a degree in Multimedia & Internet Technology and also have a HND in Software Development. But after i graduated i got in sales/retail roles leading to management and do not have any IT experience.

I am now wondering what role would what suit me?

I do know that i dont like high level programming and never have. I would like to get into a something were i am dealing with people every day and something were progress through the salary band, i guess it comes from my past employment.

I am basically posting this thread to get ideas and views of people who are in roles they enjoy and possible have come from a similar background.

Can anybody help??

2. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

Very similar to your other post here apart from this:

I started off from a customer service related background and my first few certs where in programming (C&G's, NVQ & even my degree) however couldn't get into that field so fell into the support field of IT.

I have to say that I enjoy the support field and wouldn't swap it, I have climbed thru the ranks (so to say) but that's due to continous training/CPD, planning, hard work & making sure that I pick/go for the right employers/jobs (not tasks, but posts). It's not easy, infact it is very, very hard.

-Ken

Certifications: MSc, PGDip, PGCert, BSc, HNC, LCGI, MBCS CITP, MCP, MCSA, MCSE, MCE, A+, N+, S+, Server+
    WIP: MSc Cyber Security
  3. dpatel

dpatel New Member

would the A+ get me into my entry level role or would i need to do network+ and possible something higher than that.