What to do?

Discussion in 'A+' started by Sepher, May 9, 2008.

1. Sepher

Sepher Bit Poster

Hi all,

Im currently going to get paid to do a course in IT... this can be A+, N+, S+, or CCNA, CCNP, MCSE, MCSA etc etc.

Well after reading through the forums Ive decided to start from the bottom. I dont have any IT experience working wise, but I have lots of personal experience from using computers at home etc. Ive had a short look at the A+ and I'm pretty sure I know alot of it on there, but I would still like the qualification to say I can do it.

Well seeing as Im getting paid to do the course, I dont want to waste it on something I mostly already know. So would it be a good idea to do a Network + course while self studying the A+ course? Well not at the same time, but basically would I better off using my free course on the Network + and self studying for the A+ and paying for just the A+ exams?

I would like to work in Networking mainly, and I was aiming to get the A+, N+ and CCNA and if possible an MCSE. Of course the CCNA and MCSE would be a later date, after I've spent a few years working in IT sector with my A+ and N+ qualification.

Do you think it would matter, that I have done the Networking + before the A+ if I did decide to do it this way? I would be looking out for a job as soon as Ive started the course as well.

Thanks!

Certifications: CompTIA A+, CompTIA N+, MCTS Windows 7
    WIP: CompTIA Security+
  2. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

Who's paying for the course? If it's truly a freebie, then take whatever you feel would be most beneficial to you. You very well may know most of the stuff presented in the A+. Pick up the A+ All-in-One Sixth Edition by Meyers and see if you could reasonably study that on your own. For that matter, pick up the Sybex Network+ book by Groth and do the same.