What Path Do I Take?

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Special Brew, Feb 2, 2011.

1. Special Brew

Special Brew Nibble Poster

Hello there,

My name is Chris Aldworth and I am trying to figure out what career i would enjoy doing, with a good possiblity of earning a good salary, because i want to get my own place, with my partner and then try for a baby.
    This requires money, and plenty of it!

I enjoy fixing computers, even consoles.. though, i feel that wouldn't work for me, also i would prefer not to be self employed, i want a full time guaranteed salary.

I would like a career where i can progress endlessly.

I am currently studying BSc (hons) degree in ICT with the Open University. Though it will take roughly 6 years, due to being part time.

So, What options are out there for me?
    I know it's kind of a stupid question with endless amount of possiblities, but i just wanna know some i could do, and how to get there.

Thank you so much,

Special Brew!!-

2. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

Well first your not going to walk into an amazingly well paid job straight away regardless of your qualifications and certifications. Unfortunately employers like experience the most.

If you enjoy fixing pcs and solving problems then you may enjoy working as an IT tech in a pc repair shop or if you enjoy solving problems to do with hardware and software issues then you may want to be an IT tech or support analyst in a big company whatever you do you will have to start at the bottom and usually starting salaries in IT these days is not very good (lowest I have ever seen is 11k and the highest for entry level work is 18k) but as soon as you progress so do the wages.

You need to be looking for jobs as soon as you can wether its working in a small pc repair shop or for a large company.