What is the difference between MCSA and MCSE?

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by Devilfish, Feb 13, 2009.

1. Devilfish

Devilfish Bit Poster

Hi folks,

I am studying for the CompTIA A+ exam and I also noticed books for the MCSE exams.

What is the difference between a MCSE and a MCSA?

How big a step is it from A+ to MCSE/MCSA?

I'm sure this is a simple questions for many of you but for a newbie there seems to be many, many exams that you can take and it's a bit overwhelming!

Thanks! :)

WIP: A+, Network+, MCDST
  2. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

According to Microsoft:

MCSA: designed for people with 6-12 months of real-world experience administering servers in a 250+ user, multi-site, multi-server domain environment.

MCSE: designed for people with more than 12 months of real-world experience administering servers in a 250+ user, multi-site, multi-server domain environment.

Considering the A+ is for people just starting out in IT, it's a *huge* step. After the A+, I'd recommend pursuing the Network+ and the MCDST.

Certifications: CISSP, MCSE+I, MCSE: Security, MCSE: Messaging, MCDST, MCDBA, MCTS, OCP, CCNP, CCDP, CCNA Security, CCNA Voice, CNE, SCSA, Security+, Linux+, Server+, Network+, A+
    WIP: Just about everything!
  3. Devilfish

Devilfish Bit Poster

Thanks for the confirmation BosonMichael.

So MCSE/MCSA roles require experience in the current role before you are really certified. So what are employers looking for? I mean, you need to get a job to get the experience, so what do you need to get the job? Is the A+, N+ and MCDST enough?

I appreciate your help. :)

4. BosonMichael

Do they *require* experience? No. Does having the certification do you much good without experience? Not really, no.

Experience. Certifications merely give you an advantage over others when experience levels are relatively equal.