What is an Engineer?

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by simongrahamuk, Mar 28, 2006.

1. simongrahamuk
    Honorary Member

simongrahamuk Hmmmmmmm?

Following on from some comments made in this thread, I thought it would be worth while asking the question:

What is an Engineer?​

There seems to be a varied opinion on this one, so lets see what we think.

I used to have the job title of Systems Engineer, does that make me an Engineer? or just a Technician with a nice title? Does an MCSE make you an Engineer?

:blink

2. JonnyMX

JonnyMX Petabyte Poster

I was a software engineer for about a month.
    No idea what I was supposed to be really, and neither did the people who hired me.
    Maybe engineer is supposed to be gritty and hard working?
    Software designer might sound a bit gay.

Certifications: MCT, MCTS, i-Net+, CIW CI, Prince2, MSP, MCSD
  3. d-Faktor
    Honorary Member

d-Faktor R.I.P - gone but never forgotten.

is a funeral director less a director than a movie director? has a church administrator more right to call himself an administrator than a school administrator? are musical conductors angry at train conductors? should systems engineers drop their job title because they have studied less than electrical engineers? :hhhmmm

different jobs, same name, big deal. it's all good. 8)

4. Modey

Modey Terabyte Poster

It seems to me in recent times it's become a tendy way of saying something else. I think it's become a bit overused really.

Certainly when I hear the term engineer I don't think of someone running cables, or opening up a PC, or even programming using CASE principles etc... I think of my father who for many years was an engineer, he worked on machinery, he fixed it, got his hands dirty and also was a mechanical engineer working on cars in his spare time for a while.

I suppose that's the kind of thing it reperesents to me. Someone eminently practical who can turn their hand to any mechanical / technical hands on process.